Seed Dispersal Teaching Ideas

Nyárfák (Populus sp.) English: Unidentified po...
Poplar tree shedding seeds in the wind (photo credit: Wikipedia).
A burr. This fruit attatches to animal fur via...
A burr. Those tiny little hooks allow it to attach itself to animal fur and people’s clothing. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here is a whole collection of ideas to incorporate into a lesson on seed dispersal.  Students will predict and then test seeds to see how they could disperse.  Additionally, students could watch a video on dispersal, play an online game, and have a choice of a wide range of projects to illustrate their mastery of seed dispersal..

  • Take the class on a walk to a field.  Take off shoes and walk through the field in socks.  At the end of the walk, examine socks to find out what hitchhiker seeds are attached to students’ socks (be sure to scout the area first for any sharp objects or poison ivy!)
  • Break up students into groups or pairs to explore some seeds and predict how they will travel.  Then, perform tests on the seeds to find out the actual methods of seed dispersal.  Students love this hands-on exploration of seed dispersal!

    Slide01

  • Start a classroom discussion on the purpose of  seed dispersal with the prompt: “Imagine a world without seed dispersal.”
  • Tell students they are all squirrels.  Hand each student a grape (tell them to pretend it is an acorn) and tell them to hide the grape somewhere within a specific area (you probably want to do this outdoors!).  After an hour of other activities, tell students to find the grape they hid.  Give them five minutes to search and some students will not be able to find the grapes they hid.  Ask students why this might help plants, if squirrels lose some of their acorns?
  • Hold relay races with students blowing into straws and to keep dandelion or poplar seeds airborne.
  • You may want to show some portions of this video on seed dispersal, narrated by David Attenborough.
  • Have students watch this video about the life cycle of a seed and its travels.  Students could create their own narration to the video or fill out a worksheet to describe the life cycle or the travels of the seed.
  • Check out the Seedy Characters activities website, in which students need to predict how new and unfamiliar seeds would disperse based on pictures in the game.
  • For further extensions:
    • Design and build a new seed with a new method of seed dispersal
    • Write a story, create a comic strip, or make a poster about the adventures of a seed as it travels away from its original plant
    • Create a booklet which shows different ways wind, water, animals, humans, and seed shapes can contribute to seed dispersal.
  • For a followup lesson, you may want to consider checking out Why Does a Tomato Have So Many Seeds?

You may also be interested in these lesson ideas on seed dissection or germination.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. vegas strip says:

    Everything is very орen with ɑ clear explanation of
    the challengeѕ. It was truly informative. Your website is very useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Great practical ideas for teaching seed dispersal. i have added a link to this article on my website at Newtonsapple.org.uk

    Like

    1. Thanks for the link, Steve! I love both of your articles on seed dispersal, and they would be great teachers to use when creating a web quest!

      Like

  3. Awesome site, thanks a lot !!

    Like

  4. Hi, I want to subscribe for this blog to take most up-to-date updates, so where can i do it please help out.|

    Like

    1. Hi Marni,
      I’m glad you like my page! If you go to the home page, there should be a blue button on the left-hand side of the page that says “Follow.” Click on this to get an email alerting you every time I post a new article 🙂 Hope this helps
      –Toni

      Like

  5. Hi I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was searching on Google for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I
    have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read a lot more, Please do keep up the great work.

    Like

  6. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email. продвижение сайта в интернете

    Like

  7. Hi there, all the time i used to check web site posts here early in the morning, for the reason that i enjoy
    to gain knowledge of more and more.

    Like

  8. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back down the road. I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

    Like

  9. First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Kudos!

    Like

    1. Hi Milissa, thank you for reading and commenting! I’m so glad you like my blog! 🙂 I honestly don’t think I have any routines to help clear my mind before writing. I usually just get an idea rolling around my head and I won’t stop thinking about it until I type it out. But I also always have a draft post in which I keep a running list of ideas or details to include in later posts. That way, when I get stuck, I can always look over that list for something that strikes a cord… Best of luck with your own writing!

      Like

  10. crorkz says:

    Bspink Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I’ve only been blogging since 2012, and I basically took a year and a half off in the middle of that time after a family member passed, so I really do feel like I’m a newbie to the blog scene. In terms of the layout, I have to thank wordpress for offering such great templates to use; really I did nothing more than choose it, and it was all set up! But thank you again for reading and commenting, it really makes my day! 🙂

      Like

  11. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thanks for your time!

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog! 🙂 Sorry I’m a little slow to reply to comments right now, I’ve had three IEP meetings in the past two weeks, on top of a huge project due for my own course I’m taking. You may be interested to check out: https://edibleschoolyard.org –a forum and collaboration resulting from Alice Water’s innovative ideas (and basically the first modern schoolyard garden in the US), http://www.thekidsgarden.co.uk –a website dedicated to gardening with children, based out of the UK; or https://educationoutsideafy.wordpress.com –a blog I recently came across which documents the projects they do with kids and outdoor education. Good luck!

      Like

  12. Thanks, this website is very helpful.|

    Like

  13. Keep up the incredible job !! Lovin’ it!

    Like

  14. I enjoy the details on your website. Thanks a bunch!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

